logo
 
Home Union Representatives Publications Links FAQ Contact Privacy Policy Health and Well Being Branch Conventions Annual Meeting Triennial Did you know... Political Action Archive Career Opportunity Elections 2008
 
Français    
 
 

The Canadian Postmasters and Assistants Association was founded in 1902 in Stonewall, Manitoba as a grass roots organization dedicated to improving the working conditions of Postmasters in rural Manitoba. CPAA grew from a local organization to a national association that is the second largest bargaining unit representing employees of Canada Post Corporation.
>> more

 

 
click here -> NEGOTIATIONS UPDATE <- click here
last update: September 20th, 2010
 


 
click here -> BARGAINING UNIT REVIEW <- click here
last update: July 22nd, 2011
 

 
News
 
 
2011-08-19
by Daniel L. Maheux
 

Supplemental Allowance for Postmaster-Provided Premises – Update

 

In our first Communiqué of 2011, we reminded all Group Postmasters of the new supplemental allowance available under the current Collective Agreement. Please note that as a result of the recent strike, the deadlines for applying as well as the payment issuance have been extended by one month. That is to say that CPAA members can still apply until the end of August and the payments will be issued by the end of September.

 

 
 
2011-07-22
by CLC
 

Humanitarian crisis in East Africa

 

Donate now to help Oxfam

 

 
 
2011-06-23
by Leslie A. Schous
 

 

To CPAA Members,

We know that there is a lot of confusion and frustration for you with regards to what is happening with Canada Post and the Canadian Union of Postal Workers.

We are aware that Canada Post has sent you a number of directives as to how to proceed with the work in your Post Offices. Sometimes this information comes as a local initiative and takes some time to filter up to National, both CPC and CPAA. We appreciate your vigilance in keeping us up to date as to what is happening in your Post Offices.

One issue was not clarified, until this morning, was whether or not any of our CPAA members will be laid-off if this lock-out continues for a long period of time.

I was assured this morning by Bruno Cadieux, General Manager for Labour Relations that:

"At this stage there is no intention of laying off any employees. The Corporation is working very hard to put this file to closure and return to normal operations as soon they can."

Mr. Cadieux also advised me that if this should change, we would be advised as soon as possible.

We will do our utmost to ensure that the rights and benefits of our members are maintained through this process.

 

 
 
2011-06-06
by Leslie A. Schous
 

Upcoming Strike at Canada Post
UPDATE

 

We have received a number of enquiries in the past few days with regards to the upcoming strike by the Canadian Union of Postal Workers (CUPW).

CPC has identified to CPAA National Office that no CPAA members will be laid-off as a result of this strike. Rumours are running rampant regarding lay-offs. Should events take place that are contrary to the information we have been given at National, please advise us as soon as possible .

CPAA is not CUPW and we are not on strike. We settled our collective agreement a year ago without any work stoppage, strike or lockout. CPAA is expected to go to work as usual.

We understand CPC is identifying that, although CPAA is at work, we may be told not to process any mail. Not even local mail for local delivery. I have written a letter to CEO & President of CPC, Deepak Chopra expressing our dismay at this decision, explaining that we are at work to sort mail for our customers and that we should not be prohibited from doing so.

In addition to this we are hearing that there will be no replacement hours granted in our Post Offices. Our major concern at this time is to ensure that your hours, at your substantive position, are protected.

What IF there is a Picket Line?

In the unlikely event that you have a picket line in front of your post office, and please remember this possibility is extremely remote, here are a few things to bear in mind:

Under the Canada Labour Code, Canada Post can not tell you to do the work of someone else who is on strike, but it can require you to go report for work and do your job, even if it means crossing a picket line. If you have to do so:

    - Cross lines only at designated areas
    - It is often possible to work out an arrangement with a picket captain for going into a struck location to do your job
    - Walk slowly, do not run
    - If confronted verbally - do not respond
    - Do not talk back or engage in confrontation

    - If you believe you are in physical danger while crossing the picket line:
    - Stay calm and avoid any confrontation
    - Protect yourself but do not respond with any sort of verbal abuse or unnecessary force
    - Ask for assistance
    - Try to remember the details
    - Contact your Supervisor immediately, identify the danger and ask for help and direction.

       

 
 
2011-03-02
by Leslie A. Schous
 

SUBJECT: PAYMENT FOR RECOGNITION OF SICK LEAVE CREDITS

 

CPAA National Office is disputing the methodology that CPC is using to calculate the PAYMENT FOR RECOGNITION OF SICK LEAVE CREDITS for employees who are not Full-Time. This includes Part-Time Assistants as well as Group Postmasters.

Canada Post advised us on February 22, 2011 that the sick leave bank for Part-Time Assistants and Group Postmasters will be divided by 8. They are basing this on a full 8-hour day. CPAA opposes this calculation as we believe that your average daily hours should be used as the denominator for calculating your Aqualifying days@.

We are filing a National grievance.

In addition to this, we were advised that AccessHR is telling our membership that this was agreed to by CPAA. This is totally false. CPC assured us last week that the employees in AccessHR would be advised accordingly.

Thank you for your patience and we will keep you posted.

 

 
 
2011-02-08
by Daniel L. Maheux
 

Recognition payment for sick leave credits

 

Despite repeated requests from the Association, the Corporation has not yet figured out an equitable calculation method to convert accumulated sick leave hours into days for the purpose of the recognition payment for sick leave, for employees who work less than full time shifts.

Discussions are ongoing at the time of writing. On February 2, the Corporation gave assurances to the Association, that only full time employees would receive their recognition payment in pay period 3. Members with less than full time hours were quick to call their CPAA Officers to inform us that they were receiving payments which they neither agreed with or for which they could not understand the rationale.

All members of CPAA need to know that discussions are ongoing with the Corporation and that the Association will not rest until an equitable and acceptable solution has been found. We will utilize every means at our disposal within the Collective Agreement to resolve this issue.

 

 
 
2010-08-10
by Daniel L. Maheux
 

Payment for Recognition of Sick Leave Credits

 

CPAA is putting the final touches to a document which will be mailed to all members highlighting the changes to the Collective Agreement. One change, on which we have received inquiries, is the onetime payment the Corporation will make in recognition of Sick Leave Credits. The appropriate Letter of Understanding is reproduced in part below (bold type modification has been done by CPAA):

“In recognition of an employee’s sick leave credits, the Corporation will make a onetime payment to each eligible employee who is active on the date of December 31, 2010, as set out below:

Accumulated sick leave: Payment:

400 or more days $3,000.00
300 to 399 days $2,000.00
200 to 299 days $1,000.00
150 to 199 days $500.00

The above payment will be made based on sick leave credits accumulated by the employee as of December 31, 2010.

Please note that each employee may only receive this payment on one occasion.”

 

 
 
2010-07-29
by Shirley L. Dressler
 

Raising Awareness for Mental Health

 

Wayne Stremel, a Canada Post employee from Nanaimo, BC, is cycling across the country in support of the Canada Post Foundation for Mental Health. He is stopping at various Post Offices along the way. Click on his tentative cycling itinerary to find out where he is going to be next. Follow his journey from Parksville, BC to Neils Harbour, NS at www.outoftheshadowstour.ca.

 

 
 
2010-04-21
by Leslie A. Schous
 

Certificate of Posting

 

All Post Offices across Canada should have received, from Canada Post, a notice to post information regarding the CUPW application for a bargaining unit review. This document originates from the Canada Industrial Relations Board (CIRB) and CPC is obligated to send this to all Post Offices for posting. Please post and report as directed in the instructions.

In addition to this, please note that the Notice to Employees document identifies that you, as an interested party, may submit a written submission to the CIRB. This gives you an opportunity to express your position with respect to the order or decision sought by the applicant (CUPW).

 

 
 
Home   Union Representatives   Publications   Links  
FAQ   Contact us   Privacy Policy  Health and Well Being 
 
 
© 2008 - Canadian Postmasters and Assistants Association
© 2008 - L'Association canadienne des maîtres de poste et adjoints

logo
 
Archive Offre d'emploi Élections 2008
 
English    
 
 

L’Association canadienne des maîtres de poste et adjoints a vu le jour en 1902, à Stonewall, Manitoba. Ce fut l’organisation de base vouée à améliorer les conditions de travail pour tous les maîtres de poste dans les régions rurales du Manitoba. L’ACMPA a évolué d’une organisation locale à une association nationale. Elle est la deuxième plus grande unité de négociation représentant les employés de la Société canadienne des postes.
>> plus

 

 
cliquez ici -> MISE À JOUR SUR LES NÉGOCIATIONS <- cliquez ici
mise à jour: Le 20 septembre 2010
 


 
click here -> REVUE DES UNITÉS DE NÉGOCIATION <- click here
mise à jour: Le 22 juillet, 2011
 

 
Nouvelles
 
 
2011-08-19
par Daniel L. Maheux
 

Indemnité supplémentaire allouée aux maîtres de poste qui fournissent les locaux – Mise à jour

 

Dans notre premier Communiqué de 2011, nous avons fait un rappel de la nouvelle indemnité pour les maîtres de poste de la catégorie des groupes qui fournissent les locaux, disponible dans notre convention collective actuelle. Veuillez prendre note que pour cause de la récente grève, les échéances pour vous prévaloir de cette indemnité de même que la date d’émission des paiements ont été reportés d’un mois. C’est donc dire que les membres de l’ACMPA peuvent encore soumettre leur demande jusqu’à la fin d’août et les paiements seront émis vers la fin septembre.

 

 
 
Le 22 juillet 2011
par CTC
 

Crise humanitaire en Afrique de l'Est

 

Donnez dès maintenant pour aider Oxfam

 

 
 
2011-06-23
par Leslie A. Schous
 

 

Aux membres de l’ACMPA,

Nous sommes conscients qu’il y a beaucoup de confusion et que vous êtes frustrés par ce qui ce passe entre Postes Canada et le Syndicat des travailleurs et travailleuses des postes.

Nous savons que Postes Canada vous a envoyé un nombre de directives quant à la façon de procéder à vos tâches dans vos bureaux de poste. Parfois cette information est une initiative régionale et il y a des délais avant que l’information soit acheminée au niveau national, tant à la SCP qu’à l’ACMPA. Nous apprécions la vigilance que vous démontrez à nous tenir au courant des développements dans vos bureaux de poste.

Un des volets qui n’avait pas été traité avant ce matin, était à savoir si certains de nos membres seraient mis à pied dans l’éventualité d’une prolongation du « lock-out ».

À ce sujet, j’ai reçu les assurances de M. Bruno Cadieux, Directeur général des relations de travail que :

« En ce moment, il n’y a aucune intention de mettre à pied aucun employé. La Société s’acharne à conclure ce dossier et à retourner à une exploitation normale aussitôt qu’ils le peuvent. »

M. Cadieux m’a également assuré que si les choses devaient changer, nous en serons avisés dès que possible.

Nous ferons tout en notre pouvoir afin d’assurer que les droits et bénéfices marginaux de nos membres soient maintenus au travers de ce processus.

 

 
 
Le 6 juin 2011
Leslie A. Schous
 

Grève éventuelle à la Société canadienne des postes
MISE À JOUR

 

Nous avons reçu un certain nombre de demandes au cours des derniers jours en ce qui a trait à la grève éventuelle du Syndicat des travailleurs et travailleuses des postes (STTP).

La SCP a informé le bureau national de l’ACMPA qu’aucun membre de l’ACMPA ne serait mis à pied en raison de la grève. Des rumeurs courraient de toute part concernant les mises à pied. Si des incidents survenaient dans les régions qui vont à l’encontre de l’information reçue au bureau national, veuillez nous en aviser le plus tôt possible.

L’ACMPA n’est pas le STTP et nous ne sommes pas en grève. Nous avons ratifié notre convention collective il y a un an et ce, sans arrêt de travail, grève ou lock-out. La SCP s’attend donc à ce que les membres de l’ACMPA travaillent comme d’habitude.

Il semblerait cependant que la SCP envoie le message que même si les membres de l’ACMPA sont au travail, on pourrait nous demander de ne pas procéder au tri du courrier, même pas le courrier local ou les livraisons locales. J’ai écrit au président et directeur général de la SCP, Deepak Chopra, pour lui exprimer notre consternation face à cette décision, expliquant que nous sommes au travail pour faire le tri du courrier de nos clients et que la Société ne devrait pas nous défendre d’effectuer notre travail.

De plus, il semblerait que les heures de remplacement ne seront pas permises dans nos bureaux de poste. Notre inquiétude majeure à l’heure actuelle, c’est de nous assurer que les heures de vos postes substantifs soient protégées.

Qu’arrivera-t-il S’IL y a une ligne de piquetage?

Si dans l’éventualité plus que douteuse qu’une ligne de piquetage soit érigée devant votre bureau, mais sachez que cette possibilité est très improbable, voici quelques éléments dont il faut se rappeler :

En vertu du Code canadien du travail, la Société canadienne des postes ne peut vous demander de faire le travail de quelqu’un qui est en grève, mais l’employeur peut vous demander de vous rapporter au travail et d’accomplir vos tâches, même si cela signifie traverser une ligne de piquetage. Si vous devez le faire :

    - Traversez la ligne aux endroits désignés seulement.
    - Il est souvent possible de conclure une entente avec le capitaine de la ligne de piquetage pour que vous puissiez vous rendre sur les lieux du bureau en grève afin d’effectuer votre travail.
    - Marchez tranquillement, ne courrez pas.
    - Si on vous confronte verbalement, ne répondez pas.
    - Ne dites rien et ne vous engagez pas dans la confrontation.

Si vous croyez que votre sécurité physique est en danger lorsque vous traversez la ligne de piquetage :

    - Restez calme et évitez la confrontation.
    - Protégez-vous en ne répondant pas et en n’utilisant aucun abus verbal ou force qui ne soit pas nécessaire.
    - Demandez de l’aide.
    - Essayez de vous rappeler des détails.
    - Communiquez avec votre superviseur immédiatement, identifiez la source de danger, demandez de l’aide et des instructions à suivre.

 

 
 
Le 3 mars 2011
Leslie A. Schous
 

OBJET : PAIEMENT EN RECONNAISSANCE DES CRÉDITS DE CONGÉ DE MALADIE

 

Le bureau national de l'ACMPA n’est pas d’accord avec la méthodologie utilisée par la SCP pour le calcul du PAIEMENT EN RECONNAISSANCE DES CRÉDITS DE CONGÉ DE MALADIE pour les employés qui ne travaillent pas à temps plein. Cela inclut les adjoints à temps partiel et les maîtres de poste de la catégorie des groupes.

Postes Canada nous a avisés, le 22 février 2011, que la totalité des crédits de congé de maladie des adjoints à temps partiel et des maîtres de poste de la catégorie des groupes sera divisée par un dénominateur de 8. Ce dénominateur est basé sur l’équivalent de 8 heures par jour. L'ACMPA s’oppose ce calcul parce que nous maintenons que la moyenne de vos heures de travail quotidiennes devrait être utilisée comme dénominateur pour le calcul d'admissibilité au paiement.

Nous soumettons un grief national.

De plus, nous avons été avisés qu’AccèsRH informe nos membres que ce calcul a reçu l'approbation de l'ACMPA. Cela est complètement faux. La SCP nous avait garanti la semaine dernière que les employés d'AccèsRH en seraient avisés.

Merci de votre patience et nous vous tenons au courant de tout dénouement.

 

 
 
Le 8 février 2011
Daniel L. Maheux
 

Paiement en reconnaissance des crédits de congé de maladie

 

Malgré les demandes répétées de l’Association, la Société n’a toujours pas trouvé un calcul équitable qui converti les heures des crédits de congé de maladie accumulées en jours, dans le but du paiement en reconnaissance de ces crédits, pour les employés qui travaillent moins qu’un quart de travail à temps plein.

Les discussions continuent au moment d’écrire cette mise à jour. Le 2 février courant, la Société a garanti à l’Association, que seul les employés à temps plein recevraient le paiement en reconnaissance au cours de la troisième période de paie. Les membres qui ne travaillent pas à temps plein ont tout de suite appelé les officiers de l’Association pour nous apprendre qu’ils avaient reçu des paiements avec lesquels ils n’étaient ni en accord et qui ne pouvaient pas comprendre le calcul utilisé.

Tous les membres de l’ACMPA doivent tenir compte du fait que nous sommes toujours en pourparlers avec l’employeur et que l’Association ne sera satisfaite que lorsqu’une solution juste et acceptable ait été trouvée. Nous aurons recours à tout ce qui est à notre disposition dans notre convention collective pour résoudre cette question.

 

 
 
Le 10 août 2010
Daniel L. Maheux
 

Paiement en reconnaissance
des crédits de congé de maladie

 

L’ACMPA met la touche la touche finale à un document qui mettra en évidence tous les changements apportés à la Convention Collective. Ce document sera envoyé par la poste à tous les membres. Un des changements sur lequel nous avons déjà reçus des demandes est le paiement unique pour reconnaître les credits de congé de maladie des employés. Nous avons reproduis ci-dessous un extrait partiel de la lettre d’entente (modification en caractère gras a été faite par l’ACMPA):

“Afin de reconnaître les crédits de congé de maladie des employés, la Société effectuera un paiement unique pour chaque employé admissible et actif en date du 31 décembre 2010, de la manière décrite ci-dessous:

Crédits de congés de maladie accumulés: Paiement:

400 jours ou plus 3 000 $
De 300 à 399 jours 2 000 $
De 200 à 299 jours 1 000 $
De 150 à 199 jours 500 $

Le paiement ci-dessus sera versée en fonction des crédits de congé de maladie accumulés par l’employé à compter du 31 décembre 2010.

Veuillez noter que chaque employé ne peut recevoir ce paiement qu’à une seule occasion.”

 

 
 
Le 29 juillet 2010
Shirley L. Dressler
 

Campagne de sensibilisation pour la santé mentale

 

Wayne Stremel, un employé de la Société canadienne des postes de Nanaimo, en C.-B., traverse présentement le pays à vélo afin d’appuyer la Fondation de la Société canadienne des postes sur la santé mentale. Il s’arrêtera dans divers bureaux de poste à travers son périple. Cliquer sur son itinéraire provisoire pour voir où il se trouvera sous peu. Suivez son trajet de Parksville (C.-B.) à Neils Harbour (N.-É.) à l’adresse : www.outoftheshadowstour.ca.

 

 
 
Le 21 avril 2010
Leslie A. Schous
 

Bulletin de dépôt

 

Tous les bureaux de poste de partout au Canada devraient avoir reçu, de la Société canadienne des postes, un avis d'information pour fins d'affichage en ce qui a trait à la demande du STTP concernant la revue des unités de négociation. Ce document est émis par le Conseil canadien des relations industrielles (CCRI) et la SCP a l'obligation de le faire parvenir à tous les bureaux de poste aux fins d'affichage. Veuillez donc l'afficher et en faire rapport tel que décrit dans les instructions.

De plus, veuillez noter que le document intitulé Avis aux employés précise que vous, comme partie intéressée, pouvez soumettre une soumission écrite au CCRI. Cela vous donne l'occasion d'exprimer votre position en ce qui a trait à l'ordre ou à la décision recherchée par le demandeur (STTP).

 

 
 
Accueil   Représentants Syndicaux   Publications   Liens   FAQ  
Nous joindre   Politique de Protection  Santé et bien être 
 
 
© 2008 - Canadian Postmasters and Assistants Association
© 2008 - L'Association canadienne des maîtres de poste et adjoints